

PO Box 9461, DEAKIN ACT 2600

MINUTES OF THE 2024 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 6 PM, TUESDAY, 17 SEPTEMBER 2024

ROYAL CANBERRA GOLF CLUB, YARRALUMLA

OPENING

- 1. The meeting opened at 6.02 pm with Chris Hunter as MC. With twenty-six members he declared that a quorum was present. Fourteen guests were also in attendance.
- 2. He noted that copies of the agenda, audited financial statements, minutes of the 2022 AGM, 2023 Annual Report, had been distributed by email to all members.

Apologies

3. Apologies were received from Trish Arthur, Chris Body, Nic Brown, Bruce Calder, Deb Clayton-Baker, Debra Conroy, Mike Crane, Simon Cullen, Peter Downing, Helen Elliot, June Gordon, Adrian Herring, Peter Lundy, Helen Marks, Tony May, Roxley McClennan, Toni McNeill, John Metcalfe, Robert Morrison, Howard Murray, John Palmer, Grant Pinder, Andrew Proctor, Ann Proctor, Lindy Ross, Bob Ross, James Service, Gaye Shenton, Bill Slocum, Geoff Tooth, Charles Wilcocks, and Muriel Wilkinson.

Minutes of the 2023 AGM

4. It was moved by Bill Ruse and seconded by Ric Smith that the minutes of the 2023 Annual General Meeting held on 5 September 2023 be confirmed.

Carried

ANNUAL REPORT

- 5. Presenting her Annual Report, which had been sent to all members, President Nan Bak emphasised particularly the following:
- The continued contributions of Lord's Taverners ACT to enable disadvantaged young people from the region to participate in sports of their choice. These included the All-Abilities Multi-Sports Day and support for the annual Disability Awards, Dream Cricket and Blind Cricket ACT. We also contributed to the National Cricket Inclusion Championship.
- The selection of promising cricketers Alana Horsfall and Jake Smith as the Young Taverners for 2023-24.
- The need to regrow our membership, which had continued to decline in recent years.
- The importance of fund-raising events, including the Annual Dinner and the Winemaker's Dinner, movie nights and Drinks Breaks.
- The success of two particular fund-raising events the Women's T20 Breakfast, with Jodie Hicks as an entertaining speaker; and special Luncheon held at the Queanbeyan Hotel featuring nurse and author Natalie O'Rourke.

Mobile: 0408 438 660

E-mail: <u>chris.hunter11@bigpond.com</u>

- the very welcome support of our sponsors Principal Partners Morgan Financial Ltd, Multi-Sports Day sponsor Cbr Cyber (Andrew Weir) and Muriel Wilkinson.
- 6. Nan also highlighted the forthcoming Annual Dinner, to be held at the Royal Canberra Golf Club on 31 October with Para Olympics Gold Medallists Vanessa Low and Scott Reardon as guest speakers.
- 7. There was no discussion on the Annual Report as presented. Chris advised that the Annual Report would be loaded onto the website.

TREASURER'S REPORT, FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND AUDITOR'S REPORT

8. Chris Hunter noted that these items had been circulated by email too all members. There was no discussion on the content.

ELECTION OF THE COMMITTEE FOR 2022-23

- 9. The Returning Officer, Chris Hunter, declared all Committee positions vacant. He advised that the following nominations had been received for positions on the committee:
- Nan Bak
- Deb Clayton-Baker
- Gail Farr
- Keith Hardy
- Chris Hunter
- Adelaide Jones
- Murray Radcliffe
- Ric Smith
- Geoff Tooth
- Asoka Wijeratne
- 10. Chris noted that the Committee was short of two members and called for nominations from the floor. None was forthcoming.
- 11. Nan Bak, Deb Clayton-Baker, Gail Farr, Keith Hardy, Chris Hunter, Adelaide Jones, Murray Radcliffe, Ric Smith, Geoff Tooth, and Asoka Wijeratne were elected to the Committee.

Election of Office-Bearers

- 12. The Returning Officer advised that there was one nomination for President: Nan Bak

 Nan Bak was elected President.
- 13. The Returning Officer advised that there was one nomination for Vice President: Murray Radcliffe.

 Murray Radcliffe was elected Vice President
- 14. The Returning Officer advised that there was one nomination for Secretary: Chris Hunter *Chris Hunter was elected Secretary.*
- 15. The Returning Officer advised that there was one nomination for Treasurer: Keith Hardy *Keith Hardy was elected Treasurer.*

Resolutions

16. In accordance with paragraph 3.14 of the Constitution, resolutions were required to extend the time in office of Committee members who exceed the prescribed four-year mark. Those so affected are Chris Hunter, and Keith Hardy. It was moved by David Nicholls and seconded by Rob Laurie that Keith Hardy's tenure as Treasurer be extended by one year.

17. It was moved by Raydon Gates and seconded by Ric Smith that Chris Hunter's tenure as Secretary be extended by one year.

Carried

OTHER BUSINESS

Introduction of Disability Awards Recipients

- 18. Nan introduced the Disability Awards recipients:
- Alexa Chilley
- Denzel Booth
- Pia Tynan
- Lillie Ferris
- Indygo Prebble
- Bradley Burns
- Maddie Janssen
- 19. Gail Farr handed each a certificate and chocolates.

Blind Cricket

20. Robert Altamore reminded the meeting of the support for the Taverners provided by Blind Cricket ACT. He said that the blind cricketers were looking forward to the next match against Lord's Taverners ACT.

Guest Speaker

- 21. Chris Hunter introduced Stuart Karppinen, Head of Cricket at Cricket ACT. Stuart spoke of the initiatives being investigated by Cricket ACT and the events which will occur in the forthcoming summer.
- 22. Murray Radcliffe thanked Stuart for his presentation and thanked all members who attended.
- 23. The meeting closed at 6.42 pm.